Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: All about SIKA

All about SIKA

I have been stalking sika for several years now , but only hinds in the winter months,recently i have been lucky enough to get out on a property with what should have a healthy head of sika, i am seeing plenty of sign ie wallows, fraying, bowl scoring,shxt and tracks, but all OLD...

So whats going on at this time of year that there is so little Fresh sign....

Are wallows only used during the rut.... are these wallows used by more than one deer or do stags use more than one...as

Do stags PEEP a warning the same as hinds...as i glassed a stag late in the evening and stalked the area the following morning but bumped an unseen deer that went off peeping , so not sure if it was said stag...

What leads stags to bowl score... is it similar to fraying...is it probable that say 15 trees had been scored in a small area that it has been done by the same stag..

Thanks for any answers in advance, sorry that i have asked so many questions and not a Q mark in sight, its Knacked

Hi Nell

Different ground or areas should attract sika at different times of the year for different reasons. Whether for food shelter, breeding or just to away from the flies.

As for scoring and wallows, I have seen different stags mark the same trees and use the same wallow. I think Sika stags are a bit of all species in their habit. Some hang about in the same area, a bit like fallow bucks and cover hinds that pass through, while I have seen others in areas never seen before so are obviously moving about a fair bit in their search fir hinds. I would have thought that if the ground you are on about was out of the trees and high up, July and into august would have been a good time to see them there. I was seeing good groups of stags up until about 2 weeks ago but as soon as the velvet starts to come off they tend to split up.