Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Another new chap

Another new chap

Hi folks
    introductory post required so here goes...
    The name's Mark and I live near Okehampton in Devon.
    I'm a former Army officer and a reasonable shot with a rifle but only professionally, if you know what I mean...
    Plenty of 12-bore experience, game and clays.
    I fancy bagging the odd red deer from the field opposite my house to pop in the freezer and have the consent of landowner to do so.
    I have FAC for a .308 (mod, exp ammo etc...) but have not yet bought a rifle.
    I know nothing about deerstalking and I'm here to find out about it.
    Also new to computer forums etc... my children 'do' Facebook and I can't imagine anything worse...
    hope I'm not an old fogey (yet)
    I hope to benefit from this great store of knowledge

Welcome Mark. Lots of us service and ex service personnel on here. Read all the posts and you will soon get to know who knows what they're talking about. There are lots of SME's on here and lots of people who know a little about a lot of subjects. Then you have the others!
    Have you thought about doing DSC1. It will teach you a lot for not a lot. It will also allow you to sell those reds to the game dealer!

Thanks, baguio
    I don't know what DSC1 is (yet) but common sense suggests it may mean Deer Stalking Certificate level 1?
    Sounds like good advice, anyway. How/where do I do it?

Mark you're correct on the name. You will find that the searchwindow (top right) will get you to many of the answers you want answering as they will have been asked before. http://www.thestalkingdirectory.co.u...l-end-of-April