New to the forum

njc110381

Hi guys. I've just been browsing your forum and it looked pretty good, so I thought I'd join. It looks like there's a lot to be learned here.

My name's Neil and I'm 28. I've had a SGC for about 2 years and an FAC about 18 months. Most of my shooting is Bunnies with my HMR but I'm hoping to get more into stalking in the next Doe/Hind season. I'm here for a little help really. I've shot a White tail in Canada with my .375 and done the relevant grallock etc, even butchered it myself, but I'm not really up to the standard I should be for the UK. Here I have a little experience with the 6.5 and Red Hinds, but only a couple. I was helped with everything by a friend so to be honest I'm very new to this!

I have a Roe Doe permission for the coming season and an open FAC. Rifles are a .17HMR, .22 Hornet, 6.5x55 and a .375H&H Mag. I also have a slot for a .300 Win Mag which I intend to get set up for longer range hill use. I use light Barnes TSX in the 6.5 so felt I needed something heavier for long range Reds.

What I'm really looking for is someone who I can follow around. Help with dragging out and the like, just so I can learn from a real stalker. As I say I can shoot them fine, but that's just the tip of the iceberg isn't it!

Anyway, I'm off to have a good read. I'm sure I'll get to pester a few of you for info in the coming weeks and maybe even help give advice on subjects I know a little more about.

Cheers

I took the route you are looking to follow. I tagged along with an experience stalker for 2 years. He enjoyed the company, though when pushed he reckoned younger eyes and a dragger were equally important! I learnt enough to go and do teh DSC 1 and also I learnt enough to know how little I know!!!!

Cheers,

Dave