Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Picatinny rail for Sako 85

Picatinny rail for Sako 85

Does anyone have any experience of fitting a picatinny rail to a Sako 85 and if so is there any particular manufacturer you would recommend? Itís a long story but due to the need to replace my favourite fox/target rifle and now a fault developing on the scope on my .308 I am fed up with swapping scopes around that have different mounting systems and am considering standardising on picatinny rails on all my bolt action rifles. Theoretically this should give me maximum flexibility. I know the system isnít the most elegant and can be quite heavy but am prepared to put up with that if it will allow me to swap sighting systems and scopes around with the minimum of fuss and bother.
    It's the calibre of the shooter that counts not the calibre of the rifle.

8 x 57,

I have no experience of this in particular, but have researched alternatives to Optiloc rings for my Sako 85s.

If you've not already done so, have a look at the Third Eye website. They do various alternative mounts for Sako's including, I think, a Picatinny rail. I know quite a few people who use Third Eye stuff and rate it highly.

Cheers,

Bob

Bought one recently for my .25-06 Sako 75 from Mike Norris (Brock & Norris). Took a little bit of fitting by gunsmith, but very impressed with the product. Think cost was around £120 delivered. Don't know whether the fittings on the 85's are the same, but Mike would advise.

James

Quote Originally Posted by 8x57 View Post