Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 7mm rem mag

7mm rem mag

A mate recently got one and he has been using some factory ammo for the cases,he is experienced reloaded,he tried some 120gr nos bal tips on max load,he said they were a little sticky extracting after shot,he went to resize one of these and case stuck in the die and the rim ripped of backing it out the die,I've no knowledge on this caliber,I can relay any suggestions to my mate if any of you know anything he can try to improve this,regards swarovski

Sounds like he didn't lube the case correctly before resizing, and/or he is using ***** lube.

start with a low load and work up!!

I would say he probaly used that lyman spray lube,I recently started using it but I spray the foam in the tray and roll them as I've always done,he did load several batches working up to max load,think all were the same,max loads shot the best groups,2 touching and other just under 1 inch higher bang on line,i spet barrel hadnt quite cooled down to cold,testing done at 150yds

Quote Originally Posted by swarovski View Post
    A mate recently got one and he has been using some factory ammo for the cases,he is experienced reloaded,he tried some 120gr nos bal tips on max load,he said they were a little sticky extracting after shot,he went to resize one of these and case stuck in the die and the rim ripped of backing it out the die,I've no knowledge on this caliber,I can relay any suggestions to my mate if any of you know anything he can try to improve this,regards swarovski
    The caliber isn't at fault.
    Your friend isn't as experienced at reloading as you (or he) may think.~Muir

Sd guru stand up and be counted,what would you say was the problem then..........?