Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Beaters Wages.

Beaters Wages.

I know that no one in their right mind, does it for the money, but, just wandering what beaters and "pickers up", are being payed, up and down the country, for their contribution to the Guns day? At my grandfathers old shoot, where I've been beating for the last 42 years, we've not had a rise, for about 7 or 8 years. I've just heard that this year, we are getting an extra 5 to make it 25! Don't get me wrong, the keeper looks after ,us in other ways, but I sometimes get the feeling that we are subsidising wealthy peoples sport! If it wasn't for my mate traveling with me the 70 mile round trip (and splitting the fuel cost), I would be out of pocket! Don't even get me started on vet's bills for the dogs! I know of shoots closer to home that are paying more, but, I still love going up to the "old mans place", it's a bit like coming home!
    Kev.

As you said,no one does it for the money.As for subsidising wealthy peoples sport,you need to look closer to home,there is a middle man that is doing nicely out of both of you,i reckon.............

The last place I worked we paid min wage x 7.5 hrs incl lunch, if a grouse day ran late we would pay the extra hours.
    everyone else round here is paying 50 - 65 a day. Beaters , pickers up, young ones, all the same wage. Loaders are slightly different depending on guns/estates.
    this price is both grouse and pheasants.
    i know in Caithness, they don't pay beaters! And still charge the going rate per bird to shoot!
    some places may have a keepers grouse day, all have a pheasant beaters shoot.

25 they are having a laugh.

So much depends on the type of shoot it is. I've run shoots where we just couldn't afford to pay beaters, but we looked after then as well as we could and we kept the same team for years. on big commercial shoots it's a different story but 20 to 25 would be top whack down here.