Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Different reloads - same point-of-aim

Different reloads - same point-of-aim

How would I go about developing two different reloads to have the same POI and with good grouping, i.e. a match-type target round and an expanding round without needing to re-zero? Is it possible? I'm new to reloading (less than 200 rounds) so please be gentle.

this is a very tricky thing to acheive unless you are using the same weight bullet in both cases

the heavier of the two bullets will need to travel faster than the lighter to acheive same POI
    Official Sponsor to Team GB F Class

It will be possible, but I am not sure of the benefits to be honest. I keep the 260 Rem in my gallery zeroed for stalking with Hornady 129 gr SP and Remington brass. I shoot a number of other bullets from the rifle for practice with a variety of powders and Remington and Nosler brass. I rarely rezero any of these practice rounds, I just shoot for group at short ranges. People I have talked to struggle to get this, but I find it an effective approach to take. On the rare occasions I shoot at 400m with the 260 Rem, I just hold off on the target. It's fair to say that each of my loads could be improved and as time permits I revisit them.

I spend some time shooting 2 shot groups and 3 shot groups for two basic reasons. It's what I need to do well in the field. Secondly, since shooting my first roe buck in May 1999 I have been working on getting the group size down. So that I am comfortable shooting small roe deer and don't get a bollocking for bringing a smashed up carcass back to the larder. I would like to spend more time practicing, but there's a dearth of places to practice in Scotland.