Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Damascus blade sharpening angle

Damascus blade sharpening angle

Hi Guys

Having a problem getting a reasonable sharpened edge on a Damascus (Purdey)Blade

Have been using the lansky sharpener @ 25 degree angle,Fine

Anyone have any ideas or am I using wrong angle ?

Phil

My mate has a Damascus that won't sharpen , interested to find out why .

im not an expert so im sure others will come in but there is alot of really cheap damascus from forein soils that is really crap and wont hold a good edge so im assuming you might have that material , have you put it onto wet stones ? ,atb wayne

http://www.facebook.com/pages/UKSHA/502164506587351
    uksha
    Discretion assured - call us anytime, free on 0800 689 0857
    please visit our web site: uksha1
    or find us on facebook
    Sponsored proudly by Pfanner, Blaser, Clark Forest, John Forsey sports

Hi Mereside

I have only tried the lansky sharpeners, have used these for some time and all my other knives have been fine, I had this knife purchased for my birthday by my wife, it cost a fair lump from Purdey gunmakers, I wouldn't have thought it would be cheapo steel, funny enough that's one of the reasons we got it from them to avoid just that ?

I have mora and other blades which cost 25 times less and they are razor sharp, sharpened on the lansky system I guess it's gotta be me. Help required - really like the blade as well, just a thought on the angle it might need a flatter set - I really don't want to ba*%#*cks it up if truth be told.

Cheers

Phil