Thread: What a bloody mess

What a bloody mess

I have been beating for the last 12 years. I thought 3 years ago I would buy a pup and train it up. Got this wee cocker spaniel and trained her up nice. Cracker of a wee dog for hunting and picking. As she was from Scotland she was not docked. (Folk can see where this is going already). Had no problem with her tail at all until this year. The first shoot day this year I shaved her and she was looking smart as hell and had recover well after having a litter of pups earlier on in the year. Half way through one of the drive I notice she was not her self and started to hang back on the cover. Not like her at all. Usually it's head first and the rest follows. Got her home and dryed off. Soon there was blood pissing out of the end of her tail. Blood all up her sides, on walls and doors. What a mess she was in. Everything she moved she started yelping in pain.
    This is the problem of not getting spaniels docked. I love working my dog and all she wants to do is please me and work. Feel like we have let spaniels down because there are not getting docked and hurting them selfs. The person that made up this law should come out of their warm office and see what it does to these dogs. We would not have shooting if it was not for our dogs. What a difference they make. The dogs are working so hard for us. They are the best tool for the job and if you don't look after you tools its a half ass job at the end off the day.
    We still cut lambs and piglets tails of at birth why not dogs.
    Tilly wend to the vet and got half her tail off but guess what she smashed it on her bed cause clockers can't keep still. The end went dead. So she went back and got more cut off. It's healing we'll stitches get cut out the day.
    This stress of getting knocked out twice is unreal. She is not the dog she was. This all could have been sorted at birth. Nip and that's it. No blood no stress no pain.