Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: I'm ready to start!

I'm ready to start!

Hi all. A relitively well read novice here. Finished losts of reading and over the last 6 months have been building up the tools needed to re-load.
    Have gone through a couple of load data manuals and have most of the stuff needed (including 120 off cases all Federal brass!!) now bar some sizing lube!

Does anyone out there have any recommeded loads in .243 for my Sauer 202 for 75g (Mr Fox and paper)and 100g for the deer? I have been used to using Federal power shok for targets and vital shock for deer not too bad a round! Have read that Varget is great powder but I wanted something with a bit more velocity with 100 grains.

Many thanks in advance.
    Sauer 202 in 243 and 308/Ruger 22-10/Sako Trg-22 and lots of 12g

best advice i can give is buy an d use the redding imperial sizing wax all other is crap compared to it
    Official Sponsor to Team GB F Class

I reload 75gr V-MAX for my .243 with 37gr of Varget and boy the foxes don't like them.

Thanks 1967Spud. Can't wait till the postman comes! Thanks for sending me some.

Quote Originally Posted by 1967spud View Post
    best advice i can give is buy an d use the redding imperial sizing wax all other is crap compared to it

youre most welcome

atb mark
    Official Sponsor to Team GB F Class

I personally prefer a slightly slower powder for 100gr .243 bullets
    Varget is a bit snappy and your case fill ratio can be quite low (30-32gr of powder in a 52-3gr case capacity)

I stuck with N160 (as I use it in another calibre as well)

Products - Lapua (this version is more conservative than previous versions, as before: work up to a load for YOUR rifle)
    Cartridge Loads - Hodgdon Reloading Data Center - data.hodgdon.com
    Internal Ballistics - Hornady Manufacturing, Inc

I have two loads for 100gr, one for Roe and one for Red
    38.2gr