Thread: Mission Accomplished

Mission Accomplished

I have been shooting for more than 50 years and in that time have been lucky enough to shoot almost all the different types of game availible to most of us, from 3 cock pheasants dead in the air at the same time (with one gun) to a left and right Woodcock, I was 18 at the time and a great deal quicker than I am now.
    With a rifle I have shot and killed way beyond a sensible range, and almost upon me (it was either him or me) of the deer, many hundreds of Fallow, dozens of Sika, a great many Roe, a few Reds, a few Munties and now thanks to Malc 1 Chinese Water Deer.
    Many people have written that they are easy to shoot, and to a certain extent they are, being quite small a shot any where in the body will probably drop them, but for me seeing them for the first time I was fascinated to watch them,
    It seems that as soon as they are in the open their first instinct is to run at a fast pace into the centre of any field, and promptly to lay down, now if the field is small, no problem, but if the fields are 20 acres and above, as is the case on this ground, then you have to stalk across open ground to a shootable range, which is something I have always enjoyed, if you haven't got a spotting scope then the problem of sexing them becomes an issue, unless as we did on one stalk you stand and watch a good medal buck come out into the centre of the field, then to slowly zig- zag its way across the field towards us, its very large teeth glistening in the late afternoon sun, visible from 100 yds away, we already new this beast was not for me to shoot as we had a guest for the weekend. So we stood in the middle of the field with a medal buck which came to within 60 yds of us, he then just walked away with only a backward glance.
    We saw many more Chinese over the weekend and after Ricky had shot his first Chinese I also shot mine.