Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New Rifle Barrel "running in"

New Rifle Barrel "running in"

Guys,

I've been told about running new barrels in, but wondered what others do. I found something on t'internet, but speaking to some it seems abit excessive.

Shoot 1 shot and clean (Chamber and barrel and dry out)
    Shoot 2 shots and clean
    Shoot 3 shots and clean
    Shoot 5 shots and clean
    Shoot 5 shots and clean
    Shoot 10 shots and clean
    Shoot 10 shots and clean

for a total of 36 rounds using ammo from a single batch similar to the type of ammo that you intend to use for future shooting.

I've never done this before and am intrigued as to your thoughts and what you have done.

SS

I do regard this break in stuff as nonsense.
    You are paying for a brand new barrel then you are expected to break it in.
    If you have to break it in it is not finished.
    So it is not finished, so take it back and get it finished.
    Is there a break in period for TV'ss, PC's etc any other product you buy, No.

http://www.6mmbr.com/GailMcMbreakin.html

Or if you want to spend time and money then read this:
    http://www.kriegerbarrels.com/RapidC...CompanyId=1246

Jack,

Thanks for the honest response and the websites.

Has anyone else the same views? or have you "Run in" yours?

SS

I normally put about ten rounds down a new barrel without looking at the target, well hardly.
    My idea is to get any rough edges or loose bits smoothed out and get the 'scope settled.
    Then check the rifle and 'scope for tightness, if all is well, then settle down to zero the thing.
    I've never had a problem with my shooting.