Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Barrels

Barrels

hi all newbie here, just to start the ball rolling, I've a rem 700 22-250 and am wanting to get into reloading, I just wanting your views on how many round would need to be fired before starting to wear the barrel out or lose accuracy , and would reloading speed up or slow down the affects?

leon

Quote Originally Posted by charlie-hunter View Post
    hi all newbie here, just to start the ball rolling, I've a rem 700 22-250 and am wanting to get into reloading, I just wanting your views on how many round would need to be fired before starting to wear the barrel out or lose accuracy , and would reloading speed up or slow down the affects?

leon
    Pressure eats barrels, not speed. Aim towards the lowest chamber pressures that give you a useable velocity. If you don't have a loading manual that lists pressures, get one. Very informative.~Muir

what he said
    Official Sponsor to Team GB F Class

what sort of life would you get from shop bought ammo? What loading manuals ?

so would a slow burning powder pushing 4100fps out of a 28" barrel last longer than a faster powder pushing the same bullet at 3700fps out of a 24" barrel?

if you are worried about barrel wear you can get this moly type coating which is applied with a brush to the barrel only costs a few pounds for the stuff.

Quote Originally Posted by riflehunter583 View Post
    if you are worried about barrel wear you can get this moly type coating which is applied with a brush to the barrel only costs a few pounds for the stuff.

have only heard bad things about moly coated anything

It will also depend upon hot hot you get the barrel when shooting. heat kills the throat and wears the bore.