Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: .308 to 7mm sizing die

.308 to 7mm sizing die

Hi

I need to resize the necks on some .308 brass down to 7mm and 6.5mm

What are the best dies to use and where can I get the dies? I currently use a standard press

SD Regular
    This is to make 7mm-08 and 260 Remington?

In practice it is just a case of putting your 308 case through your standard 7mm-08 die with the neck and body adequately lubricated. Now you COULD also just put the 308 case directly through your standard 260 Remington die. Me I'd try maybe going down to 7mm and then 6.5mm.

The only thing that I would be concerned with, and I've no experience of these calibres, is if in doing so you cause headspace issues with the now re-sized brass cases. The very last thing that you want to do is somehow set the shoulder back so that, unknown until you fire it, you have created a headspace proble.

I'd also be very wary of EVER making both 7mm-08 and 260 Remington from 308 brass where both sizes of cartridge will bear the same identical headstamp. At best it is turning up to stalk with a 260 rifle and 7mm-08 ammunition. A worst it is an accident waiting to happen in not realising that you've got the wrong ammunition and using it through the "wrong" rifle.

Sometimes economy measures aren't always best!
    Last edited by enfieldspares; 01-01-2013 at 23:48.

mildot,