Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Fox load .... and roe

Fox load .... and roe

Hi all, Im new to reloading and need a little advice please. I have looked for this info, but havnt found it in the directory so ....

I am looking for a suitable bullet for my CZ .223 american ( I believe it has a 1:12 twist ) I have a few factory 50gr Vmax and wonder whether to stay with them or to try 40 Vmax ? They will be used for fox and ground pests/vermin.

I will probably be buying some 55gr soft point to load for roe as well.

I intend loading with Varget and will also be trying N133 soon. Any information or advice accepted.

Regards Alan

My view would be to go for one load. Focus on the roe shooting. I have never had a fox complain about being shot with a game bullet. I don't shoot many roe with either 22.250 or my .223 but when I do I use a 50gr round nose and it's very clean, accurate and non damaging - apart from the obvious of course. Foxes don't take a great deal of killing in my view and as long as you can get an accurate shot placed then they'll go down. Not trying to over simplify here guys - forgive me if you are a foxing expert. But I see people with 'special' fox rounds made from depleted unobtanium dipped in gold leaf, poison core, laser guided with retro boosters doing MACH 3.5. I just shoot them with what's in the gun.

So there's my two penneth. One round, good for roe. Load them up, stick them in your rifle. One point of aim, doesn't matter what you point it at. It'll do the job.

Chris

I'm with you Chris J on this one. KISS - keep it simple stupid (no offence intended).
    It's the calibre of the shooter that counts not the calibre of the rifle.

Quote Originally Posted by Chris J View Post