Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Any Medical Experts out there?

Any Medical Experts out there?

Last night I unfortunately fractured my hand behind my little finger, which happens to be my trigger hand.
    Obviously it will be hard for anyone to give any info without actually looking at my hand but if anyone has any info or has done something similar do they know how long it will be before I can fire a rifle again? I'm off to Scotland 4th Feb and do not want to miss that!

Not to sure would be best thing to ask a Docter/Nurse at the fracture clinic!

Many thanks to anyone that can help.

Pete

Account Suspended
    I'm not a medical expert but I did fracture my left wrist when I was 16 and was out shooting again as soon as the plaster cast was removed 4 weeks later. I'm right handed so the wrist was needed to support the fore-end. It ached a bit at first but that was never a big deal.

By comparison, I very painfully cracked a bone in my ankle over four years ago (at the age of 49) and have only, something like, fully recovered in the last few months... didn't stop me shooting at all... did make dragging out more uncomfortable than usual though.

How old are you?

Thanks for your input Tamus, I'm only 27 so should hopefully recover pretty quickly.
    They have only taped fingers together at the moment, which I think is all they are going to do so I can hold and fire a rifle, however I need my hands for work so do not want to cause any other dmamge which could be detrimental to my work.

I assume you have actually been to hospital to confirm it has been fractured?
    When my knife slipped and i cut my tendons the hospital staff were very professional in Exeter and were fine when my first question was, when can i shoot again?'
    So ask them, they will be fine about it.
    Cheers
    Richard