Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Quick load

Quick load

Hi I am new to reloading and I am having a great time buying loads of new toys!
    I have seen reference to quick load in quite a few threads and wonder if this is a good thing to buy or is it not really necessary. Most of reloading is going to be for hunting loads.

If you do a lot of 'experimenting' type reloading then it can be worthwhile.
    On the other hand just for hunting, buy a few manuals - much cheaper and easier to use.

Calibre dependant too - if you shoot loads of different cal with a variety of bullets then maybe but if you single/double cals might be worth just putting a wanted ad up and im sure someone would run through a few loads for you for a beer or pin money. Its not a cheap piece of software and would be well over the top just for developing a good hunting load in single/2 calls.

Best of luck

I bought Quick Load when I started reloading and have found it to be very instructive. It is not absolutely necessary when you have access to reloading tables but it is useful when comparing the effects of the many variables.

I have also found (in my experience anyway) that, if all the variables are entered as precisely as possible, QL gives me more accurate MV data than my Chrony used to!!!

thanks guys that's very helpful.

Quote Originally Posted by Vipa View Post
    I have also found (in my experience anyway) that, if all the variables are entered as precisely as possible, QL gives me more accurate MV data than my Chrony used to!!!

Sorry, but this doesn't make sense.

Are you saying that your Chrony readings aren't credible?

That your Chrony is faulty?

That the chronograph readings don't match the Quickload predictions so must be wrong?

That Quickload is more reliable because it provides the results you wished for rather than the real world results you actually got?