Salt Blocks and attractants for deer

roe steak

Do salt blocks and attractant actually work?

I'm a walk and stalk kind of guy and in the pub a chap with a local lease was going on about putting down all kind of stuff to attract and hold the deer near highseats.

He mentioned salt blocks and attractants of various 'magic' type names which I just nodded too because although I'm aware of boar attractants i've no knowledge of deer ones.

Anyone used them with success??

Hi Roe,

We have had good success using salt blocks, nothing fancy just normal cattle mineral blocks from the local farm store. We have also used road salt, dig a shallow pit line with plastic sheet, put in salt and cover back over with soil.

The above have been used for fallow; I dont have much experience with roe!

Tom

Hi Thomas,

i used salt to attract Roe / Munties. I clear offices in my job and found 50kg of dishwasher salt (granulated) a coupe of weeks back, took them out and have been using that.

Trick is to find a old stump of something like described above that will hold the salt (as it will get washed away)

It does help to keep them around - but its just a small part of what they need to be interested in staying in an area.

T

In my mind, salt blocks are used as mineral supplement in poor habitats and to help deer build bigger heads. It might be ethically disputable if they should be used as atractors and placed near high seats...

Just my opinion.

Greg

glogin said:
In my mind, salt blocks are used as mineral supplement in poor habitats and to help deer build bigger heads. It might be ethically disputable if they should be used as atractors and placed near high seats...

Just my opinion.

Greg
we all love the whole experience of stalking from start to finish, but we all want to shoot deer or why not just carry a camera. :rolleyes:
if you have culls to meet limited time,use what ever it takes to get the job done, within reason of corse. ;)