Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: DSC1 Teachers how much experience

DSC1 Teachers how much experience

After reading many funny comments and micky taking about the DSC qualification. I was wondering how much experience would you expect the person teaching the course to have. Practical as well as class room based .And would you ask this when booking a course. And who monitor's this.

Distinguished Member tartinjock's Avatar
    Are they teachers or instructors?I am not a teacher, but I am an instructor in some things, for my training to become an instructor, I follow a system, I do not do more than is in the book, not more than is expected. It's a system that we (The Armed Forces) have used for years, it ensures everyone who is an instructor in the subject can come in and take over. So Joe Bloggs takes the lesson to Lesson Number 3, Sam Smith can come in and take over the lesson knowing that where he will start lesson 4 from is where Joe Bloggs left lesson 3, there will be no difference in methods of instruction as we are all trained to do it in a certain way. From experience, you do not need to know a subject to instruct it, but you need to know the subject to teach it....That's my opinion anyway....
    Position and hold must be firm enough to support the firearm
    The firearm must point naturally at the target without any undue physical effort
    Sight alignment (aiming) must be correct
    The shot must be released and followed through without disturbing the position

You are quite right tartinjock I should have used the word instructor and not teacher. But in your write up you say for my training to become a instructor. So dose this mean you should be trained to become a DSC instructor or is there a minimum standard to become this.

My course was run by David Stretton of Donington Deer Management. There may be lots of people around who know as much as him, but I doubt there are many who know more.