Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Off road driving coarses

Off road driving coarses

Maybe is simjim could organise such a coarse,at least it would be a real coarse instead of the usual junk going around in his brain cell .obviously you need dsc 1&2 and its to be b.a.s.c and b.d.s approved to participate.lol

I know your post is in jest, but there is a lot most of us could learn. We all think we are great drivers, but I'm not convinced.

Sort of ties in with the 'get stuck' thread - people not knowing what their car is capable of. People sitting there bogged revving hell out of the engine. Just don't have a clue...................

Section 161 of the Highways Act 1980 (England & Wales) makes it an offence to discharge a firearm within 50 ft of the centre of a highway with vehicular rights without lawful authority or excuse, if as a result a user of the highway is injured, interrupted or endangered.

I've had 30 years of experience driving plant,dumpers and excavators and they all have there limits,these people that peruse the off roading hobby are seriously geared up to participate and spend a lot of money on it,most of us put full MUDs on and think they will go anywhere which in a lot of cases they can with extra ground clearence but they will not cross boggy ground once axled up.

offroad driving in mud and slop is as much about learning the ground conditions as it is machine control mud tyres and locking diffs only mean when you get stuck you are in further and deeper therefore are harder to get out and most farmers would be less than appreciative of your efforts lol . offroad driving courses are normally geared up to teach you haw to drive safely in what are driveable situations than to identify what are not .
    a barony original