Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: First Deer Dog

First Deer Dog

Hi Guys,

I have almost convinced her in door to let me get a dog for my stalking.

Just looking for some general info and whats a good dog to start with, i have no prior dog training experience so looking for something that wont take the utter p*ss out of me all the time. It would also have to have a good temprement as well as i've got a four year old kid in the house. The dog will be almost soley used for for deer with maybe an occasional rabbits. It will be kept in doors as its going to be a family dog as well. I'm willing to put plenty of time into the dogs training.

The bottom line is i'm looking for a deer dog for a beginner. Any ideas?

Cheers Rob

Lab, easy, steady, child friendly!

Teckel, very child friendly, excellent nose, great in the house and they don't take up much room or eat you out of house and home!

Quote Originally Posted by Vonoepen View Post
    Teckel, very child friendly, excellent nose, great in the house and they don't take up much room or eat you out of house and home!
    Having been down the Teckel road I would say they are not a novice dog. Excellent little dogs though!

Thanks guys, i would really love a teckel or some sort of blood hound but i have herd they are pretty head strong and not really for the novice dog trainer. I really like spaniels also but i have been told they are more of a shotgun dog than a deer dog. The two dogs who i'm out with regularly are labs and they are great dogs so i mite just go down that route and play it safe.

Cheers Rob

Quote Originally Posted by Bigboab29 View Post