Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Bipod

Bipod

Guys,

I am Very new to the bipod world of shooting. I have always sighted my rifle with out one and hunted many many animals too. I was recently told that once you sight in a rifle with the bipod and then remove it the point of impact will not be same. Is this true? Does this mean that the zero will not be the same when shooting of sticks.

heard the same, but never experienced a POI change when shooting with or without them. all my rifles from .223, 6.5, 30-06 and .243 with/without bipod, never changes. maybe it's because they're not remmies with synthetic stocks

Sometime yes, sometimes no.

Depends upon your shooting style - some people put a lot of downward pressure on the forestock when shooting from bipod. Mix that with some of the makes that tend to be prone to stock contact - Prohunters, Sauer etc and it may be an issue.

Only one way to be sure...
    Stalking, Courses, Gear - Moray Outfiiting Website here - Welcome
    BASC Approved Trainer & Assessor. Cairngorm National Park Authority Approved Supplier. Supported by Sauer Arms
    See you at the Stalking Fair, Scone & Moy 2017

I had an issue with a tikka t3 that changed it's poi with a bipod, and was far more accurate without it, after a bit of investigating I found that the forstock was bending and touching the barrel with the bipod on. It took all of 2 minutes with a bit of sandpaper to sort the problem. So it's not just a problem with remmies with synth stocks!!!

Quote Originally Posted by andymarsh View Post
    I had an issue with a tikka t3 that changed it's poi with a bipod, and was far more accurate without it, after a bit of investigating I found that the forstock was bending and touching the barrel with the bipod on. It took all of 2 minutes with a bit of sandpaper to sort the problem. So it's not just a problem with remmies with synth stocks!!!