Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Rifles heavy barrel or not ?

Rifles heavy barrel or not ?

Hi All, Im still new to stalking and have lots to learn but i have decided what rifle to get (something that doesnt weigh too much) but i am wondering how mant stalkers use Heavy / Varmint /Tactical rifles especially when i read a post where the Pro stalker uses a 308 Tactical rifle and a 338 Lapua Sniper rifle as his Estate rifles,"the 338 for confidence at longer ranges" how far is this guy shooting ? I thought the stalking part was all about getting close to the deer !

Can of worms this one. I personally dont have or use HB's. Just last week we ran a dsc1 course and many candidates used my finlite in 6.5. Though it wasn't allowed to get hot it was warmed up and shot every deer target dead. Everyone passed. So why have the extra weight?
    When I have tested all my rifles they all shoot the first x4 shots very well so why is that not enough?
    Even my fox kit is a sporter and my rem mag is too. 14 year old tikka and it shoot rws factory into 1 inch at 200ms quite happily.

I've had varmint/HB rifle for range use but would never consider one for stalking the extra weight is a killer over the time of a long stalk with a mod scope etc on top of that really no need IMO...

you don't need a heavy barrel like's been said but they are a bit less twitchy when you've those nervous types behind it. I have a T3 varmint in .223 with a mod and harris that weighs in like a small child but it's so nice and smooth to shoot.

I don't mind the weight but it's not for the lesser man to carry about the hill all day...

Bigger is not neccessarily better. Eskimo kill Polar Bear with a .22. Accuracy counts, IMHO. I am comfortable with those in the 30 cal. range, i.e. 30.06, 30.40, etc.