Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: How can I improve this load?

How can I improve this load?

I've been re-loading for 2 years and had good success with both 22-250 and 6-5x55. Achieving ammo which out performs the factory stuff I started with. I now only use re-loads. However I have recently bought a .308 Heym with 23" barrel and a shot count of 40 rounds.
    Using some once fired federal cases full length sized and trimmed, cci #200 primers, and speer 150 gn SPBT (2022) bullets.
    I started with
    45gn Varget and worked upto 47gn (stated max load) with a COL of 2.700"
    Results were 3 shot groups as follows.
    45gn= 2 5/8"
    45.5gn= 1 7/8"
    46= 2 3/16
    46.5= 3/4
    47= 1 13/16"
    So from this I took the 46.5 gn load and played with the COL begining with 2.650 upto 2.800 in 0.05 increments.
    Groups were.
    2.650=15/16"
    2.700=1"
    2.750=1 1/2
    2.800= 1 3/4.
    Admitidely this was prone of my rucksack at 100 yds and wold have been better of a nice bench. I do have access to a range but only when my mate can attend, so I just wanted to crack on.
    I should also say this rifle is un-moderated and I am just getting to grips with the extra recoil compared with the 6.5.
    1" group is all I need for hunting so not looking for clover leaf etc but can shoot 1" fairly consistently with the 6.5. My question. Is there anything else that could be done to improve this initial loading?
    Would a flat base bullet nearer the lands make much difference?
    Any idea's would be welcomed.
    Thanks.

3/4" is perfectly acceptable, if you can replicate that consistenly then I'd stick with that one.
    Anecdotally, I'd be suprised to see such a swing in groups due to a half grain of Varget (46 to 46.5) as it's quite a slow powder.

I take it you're chamfer/deburring the brass before loading it?