Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Reloading 22 Hornet dies

Reloading 22 Hornet dies

I am getting into reloading although i will admit im no expert, safety first!.

I would like to get my hands on a set of 22 Hornet dies or possibly a Lee loader.

If any one has any tips on reloading this little cartridge i am also open to learn.

Whats the best powder for it, i have heard Lilgun is good.

happy to purchase any bits for reloading it, bullets and primers, already have brass.

thanks in advance.

Quote Originally Posted by Tam the Gun View Post
    I am getting into reloading although i will admit im no expert, safety first!.

I would like to get my hands on a set of 22 Hornet dies or possibly a Lee loader.

If any one has any tips on reloading this little cartridge i am also open to learn.

Whats the best powder for it, i have heard Lilgun is good.

happy to purchase any bits for reloading it, bullets and primers, already have brass.

thanks in advance.

Tam I have a Lee loader in .22 Hornet that I dont use if you are interested PM me.

I was given advice from Muir on here on reloading the Hornet following his advice I used Lil Gun 13 grains or case full to brim (same thing) and top it off with 35 grain V Max my Walther shoots sub 1/2" groups @100 yards.

Sounds awesome, i have read alot of Muir's stuff and he sounds like a very good guy with loads of good advise.

PM sent

Quote Originally Posted by multiman View Post
    Lil Gun 13 grains or case full to brim (same thing)
    Not the same thing at all, I can get 13.7 grains in fire formed and neck sized Remington case, and that is still not a level fill.
    It is I will admit a safe load, with 35, 40 or 45 grain bullets, at least in my rifle.
    Best results with the hornet include a crimp, not easy with the Lee Loader, and as such it is the one calibre I have failed to load