New member - Cardiff, South Wales

daverzz

Hi All,

Here’s my intro and plea for help.

My name is Dave, I'm 27 and live just outside Cardiff. I was born and raised in South Africa until I was 14 and have lived in N. Ireland for a bit too.

For the past couple of years, I have been to visit my cousins in Alabama, USA and go out shooting (targets, cans etc, handguns & rifles with various calibres) and I’ve tagged along on a few hunting outings with him. He really knows his stuff, but a couple of days a year really isn’t enough to pass much onto me, so I can probably be classed as a bit more than a complete novice.

So my plea for help is this really – there is so much information online and it’s pretty overwhelming when reading through it all on here, that I am hoping there may be someone or a club/society/syndicate (local if possible), who would be willing to help me out - give me a bit of advice, point me in the right direction, take me under their wing as they say.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,
Dave

PS sorry if my plea for help shouldn’t be in this section.

Welcome to the site Dave. I'm sure there'll be people locally who will be able to help and advise.
Do you have your FAC yet - or are you starting from very first principles?

Thanks for the welcome guys.

Eric, all I've really known has been hunting in the states so coming to grips with UK rules and principles is probably where I need to start. Should I be looking at getting my FAC sooner rather than later?

Thanks for the welcome guys.

Eric, all I've really known has been hunting in the states so coming to grips with UK rules and principles is probably where I need to start. Should I be looking at getting my FAC sooner rather than later?