Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Case trim length

Case trim length

Apologies if this topichas been discussed before. I'm new to the world of reloading andI'm about to reload once fired Winchester brass in .243. The manual(Lyman 49th Ed) gives two case lengths. The drawing shows 2.045 which I assume to be the maximum length but there is also atrim to length of 2.035 ?

Does this mean thateach case should be trimmed to 2.035 or that anything in between2.035 - 2.045 is acceptable?

It might be worth mentioning that I'm reloading for hunting rounds and practice
    Any advice would begreat

yes your correct trim all to 2.035 regards pete

Quote Originally Posted by Roedinator View Post
    yes your correct trim all to 2.035 regards pete
    Thanks mate

When trimmed to 2.035 you will find the case grows a few fow when its fired,when you f/l resize it will grow again,it may take a couple of shots before they reach max length,I trim every firing to keep everything uniform,if you just neck size the case will nearly never need trimming

One point on trimming: of you find you're trimming a lot (a) could the load be a tad too hot and (b) you might be oversizing the cases. My 22-250 requires very little trimming as does the 30-06 with normal loads. I made a slight cock-up a while back by setting the 30-06 die a bit too hard down on the shellholder and oversized them. I should have noted the excessive trimming...before a spot of incipient case head separation was detected! 200 cases in the skip.
    Another top tip is to ensure that if you use an adjustable trimmer that the adjustment is well locked down as if it creeps a bit you could end up taking off too much. I use some Lee trimmers with the pilot threadlocked in place.
    BTW made sure you de-bur the inside and outside of the freshly trimmed case mouth as they're rather nasty sharp.

Quote Originally Posted by Barkingsnake View Post