Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: .243 col

.243 col

Hi Guys I could do with a bit of advice please, Im fairly new to reloading Ive bought a couple books and been ploughing my way through them, but this is my question. Im reloading for my browning a bolt in .243 using Hornady 87grain V-max bullets the minimum col in my book(modern reloading second edition) is not listed. So I checked the maximum length by just seating a bullet in a already fired case and chambered the round, I got 2.726inches from the base of the cartridge to the plastic tip of the bullet. I then varied the charge weights of powder and seated all the bullets .020thou of the ring lands with my powder hogdons H4895 the best group I got was 1inch at 100 yards with a charge weight of 37grains, How deep can you go with bullet seating depth and will this have a massive effect on the accuracy and what increments would you adjust in eg .005thou increments etc

Cheers
    John

if you have a starting point and are getting reasonable groups,I would adjust the depth 10 thou at a time,you then should see a pattern emerge hopefully tighter.
    the way I do it which also saves on wasted rounds is to take your batch of bullets to the range along with your seating die and measuring equpiment.
    you will need a press also I find the LEE hand press to be perfect for this job.
    press 2 bullets in 10 thou and fire them,if they do not show any promise dont fire a 3rd
    pree another 2 bullets in another 10 thou and fire them,again if they dont show promise dont fire a 3rd
    keep doing this untill you you the 2 shot toucj or go through the same hole,then adjust a 3rd and fourth bullet and fire into the group.
    I have found I can usually get a rifle shooting within 12 shots or less using this method,providing your rifle likes the bullets you are using.