Pet loads for .222 rem

john444334

Hi SD

I am new to reloading and have been give a few pet loads to try. They have come from folk that have been loading along time and I should hope by their position they should now a thing or two.

My question is: most of the loads I have been give are over the top limit of anything I can find in print, even backing off 10% the load is sat on the top limit. Does this seem to be a normal thing or should i be cautious?

May thanks John

Hi SD

I am new to reloading and have been give a few pet loads to try. They have come from folk that have been loading along time and I should hope by their position they should now a thing or two.

My question is: most of the loads I have been give are over the top limit of anything I can find in print, even backing off 10% the load is sat on the top limit. Does this seem to be a normal thing or should i be cautious?

May thanks John

You never, ever, shoot anyone elses loads in your rifle, especially if they are above maximum listed loads. The .222 is an accurate cartridge and about anything will work well, powder wise.

Start at minimum and work up. No offense, but if these friends of yours didn't tell you the same thing, they aren't as experienced as you think. These are the first rules of handloading.~Muir

You may even find as I did that the book loads are a bit hot

50gr vmax
N133 or RL7 or Even N140 was recommended to me
I found OAL is limited by magazine length in my BRNO

Hi, I feel there is no need to go over book max load in this calibre. Having said that most of the loads I use are at the high end of the book data as that's what works best in my rifle.

The loads I and 3 other mates with 222's use are all with Viht N130

40 grain V-max with 22.1 grains
50 grain V-max with 21.3 grains
55 grain Hornady SPWC (#2266) with 20.6 grains