FAC cert Q

purdeydog

Hello

I have been shooting on and off for the last 21 years, but only now getting my FAC. I have shot most UK vermin and game with shotguns. I have also shot many a fox and stalked deer whilst supervised with a 243 or 270 and rabbits with a .22. I would class my self as having 21 years experience with shooting and all aspects of safely using a rifle. I have never applied previously for a FAC as I was in the Army and always away etc.

I would like to get a .22 for bunnies and a .308 for an all round rifle and hopefully make my mind up on an all round grain. I intend to stalk on the hills and woodland. I also want to purposely go out and control foxes whilst not just coming across one whilst stalking.

Having read a lot of posts on here I'm a left unsure of what to do. Some posts suggest the police will view a .308 as to much for fox control, and they would like a lesser caliber.

So my question is that I'm unsure if applying for two rifles on my 1st FAC is too much of an ask ?? let alone a third one for foxes ?? which I really don't want a third one. As for old charlie dead is dead and know ones going to be eating him!

Many thanks John

Hi John,

You will have seen from the posts on this site that different police forces have different views and take different courses of action. The latest ACPO guidance is trying to move away from a rigid calibre = quarry approach. Essentially, the 'new' idea is if you have a deer rifle it is reasonable that you can use it for fox control - as you point out, dead is dead, and if you are safe enough to be entrusted with a rifle for deer there is no logical reason why you would suddenly be 'unsafe' shooting a fox. While this seems to be eminently sensible (leaving aside folk who want to shoot muntjac at 1000m using a .50BMG) some forces elect to ignore it.