Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Basic gunsmithing advice please

Basic gunsmithing advice please

This is the second occasion in which I've entrusted my rifle to a supposed competent gunsmith, paid my hard earned money and been let down. A threading job that's a right bloody mess and on a fluted barrel to so can't just be chopped and started again. I'll sort it with him but I swear that this is the last time I'll do this.

About a century ago I gained a degree in aero engineering and even longer than that spent some time on a lathe. I'm in no way an experienced metalworker nor even consider myself knowledgeable but with a bit of revision and training must be able to perform the basics like re-barreling and threading for myself.

So can anyone recommend some books, videos or courses from which I can learn? Consider me a complete beginner as I intend to restart at the basics. i

Any advice and guidance gratefully received.

Practice, practice and repetition mate...you clearly have the aptitude! I've got a few books I'll look at where I got them and let you know!

It's like riding a bike: you don't forget... You might find that once you get back on a lathe you know instinctively which way to wind the dials and it's all second nature.

Just make sure you get a lathe of similar layout to what you were used to. British and American are reversed regards the saddle handle position.

Oh and yes get a decent rigid lathe. Some of the newer ones are quire flimsy .................................. not good for reaming and threading. Also make sure the spindle has enough room through which to put a barrel. Some are too small and or a long enough bed to work a barrel between centres.

Books check the dreaded bay for a copy of:-

The NRA Gunsmithing Guide

There is also:-

​The Master Gunmaker' Guide to Building Bolt Action Rifles by Bill Holmes.