Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Is it worth a try?

Is it worth a try?

I've never managed to get a very accurate load with Nosler Partitions even though I'm using them as my primary deer bullet these days. I really like their performance on sika.

I'm currently using RL15, in my 308W, for everything but can get some Varget should I wish to give it a try. I know Varget is supposed to be a good 308W powder and it might be useful to have a load for it if nothing else as a fall back in case RL15 isn't available. Is it likely to make any difference to the performance of my Partition load in terms of accuracy? Is Varget easy to get a decent load with?

The Partition load with RL15 isn't bad but it isn't as accurate as my RL15 load with the Hornaday Spire Points plus it is 300fps slower.

Although I've been reloading for maybe 6+ years now I know nothing about different powders just on the basis of using what I could get a relatively reliable supply of.
    For self catering accommodation on the Isle of Lewis please visit:
    http://www.7south.co.uk/

If you've not already tried it, try a different neck tension and also another brand of primers. Obviously only change one thing at a time and work up the loads. Also you could try full length resizing as another avenue to explore? Good luck. JCS

Quote Originally Posted by caorach View Post
    I've never managed to get a very accurate load with Nosler Partitions even though I'm using them as my primary deer bullet these days. I really like their performance on sika.

I'm currently using RL15, in my 308W, for everything but can get some Varget should I wish to give it a try. I know Varget is supposed to be a good 308W powder and it might be useful to have a load for it if nothing else as a fall back in case RL15 isn't available. Is it likely to make any difference to the performance of my Partition load in terms of accuracy? Is Varget easy to get a decent load with?