Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Parker Hale

Parker Hale

Hi Troops, bit of a newbie here, Bought my first rifle, a Parker Hale 243,probably quite old but have shot very well with it and I actually quite like the traditional look.I chose it because it was relatively cheap and had intended to move to something in due course. My only gripe is the spring loaded feed system.....haven,t mastered that at all. Could this be modified/ altered to a "magazine" system and if so, is it worth the cost?.
    I know there are Parker Hale experts on here, so I would apreciate your,e comments, Iain.

HI ph
    My dad has a 1200 Superclip in 308,bought it from new many moons ago,never had any probs with the loading system.
    Saying that mind, he has probably only put 3to 400 rouds through it from new,and is an absolute minter.

Nothing wrong with them, they will knock deer over for you no problem. I have a PH .270 which had only had 5 rounds fired through it and came with a swarvi 6x42, all at the bargain price of 350. The gun trade is a little like the car market, bring out a new model and we will just charge you a lot more for the pleasure. The second hand car still gets you there and the second hand old fashioned rifle is still capable of killing all the deer and foxes you wish to.a lot of it is a lot of marketing XXXXXX. Or am I just being a tad cynical.
    John.

I take it that you mean that you have the usual Parker Hale drop plate fixed magazine and you are wondering about changing to a detachable magazine. Yes it can be changed but frankly it’s not worth the trouble or expense which will cost more than the value of the rifle and with which you may have some difficulty sourcing the parts. Personally I find no advantage to having a detachable magazine on a stalking rifle and would stick with the existing system.
    It's the calibre of the shooter that counts not the calibre of the rifle.