Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Zeroing range days or police notified!

Zeroing range days or police notified!

I have a question......

My friend has joined a rifle club here at home that holds range days.

The club has stated that regional legislation states he must attend range days and if not his information will be forwarded by the very club he has paid membership too for the past x number of years, to the Firearms and Explosives Branch.

I thought zeroing could be done by the licencee on grounds suitable, with a backstop of at least 10m high.

Now this makes me think that even though I have 5 years experience serving with the UN firing .50cal brownings and 7.62 Accuracy Internationals from morning to night, do I have attend range days sufficient to satisfy my FEO on my FAC renewal (not for ages yet) that I have officially zeroed my rifle, or does my own zeroing and target practice on lands upon which I stalk not suffice?

Why does owning a rifle feel that you always have to be looking over your shoulder and that common sense never prevails!

I can't even have a heated debate with a neighbour unless as I may be deemed mentally unfit! All I want to do is stalk safely, it would be in my best interest to always have my rifle zeroed, which I can relax and do on my own permitted grounds, without having to attend a range day.

Sounds to me like you are listening to a lot of people, and getting a whole lot of stuff mixed up.