Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Nikon Monarch Binoculars

Nikon Monarch Binoculars

Hi!!

I'm just getting into deer stalking and looking for a decent set of bins to get me going that will do the job until I can afford something better

I've got around 300 to spend on a pair of bins and was looking at these (8.5x56)
    http://www.nikon.com/products/sporto..._x56/index.htm

anyone got anythoughts on them, or any recommendations on anything similar?

thanks in advance

Oggy

I've had the Monarch 8x42 for over 4 years now. Excellent optics although both eye cups have lost their twist/click movement and are now held in situ by tape. Still great value today from Micrglobe at 199.

I have been using a set of olympus EXWP1 binoculars for about 3 years. Just got a set of swarovski 10x42 as there was a good deal on them. Comparing the two last night i would say the swaros were slightly brighter and sharper but the main difference is the build quality, swaro obviously superior.
    I just had a quick look on net and they are available in uk for approx 300 but i suspect could be got for less. I bought mine in Hong Kong for 100 and they sell in the states for less than 300. A relative of mine is going to HK in a few months time and im going to get a new pair as a back up and a friend who uses 8x56 zeiss dialyt is going to also get a pair as they are a lot smaller and lighter than the zeiss.
    They are deffinatly not as good as the top european glass of course but for somewhere between 100 and 300 they are superb.

http://www.binoculars-uk.co.uk/acata...mpus_EXWP.html

I have a pair of 12 x 50 Monarchs. They are fine as a starter pair, a set to keep in the truck or for spares or work etc. While we all have to work within our own budgets you will probably find you want a better pair in future. Try some good ones (any of the big makes will be fine) in low light.