Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Stupid question -polishing bullets

Stupid question -polishing bullets

Alright guys I'm pretty sure this is a stupid question but I'm sure someone may have tried this and can answer it for me.

Whilst looking at a new box of Federal PowerShoks (I know they're at the cheaper end of the factory ammo quality) I couldn't help but notice how rough and ragged some of the lead tips were. This got me thinking back to some SAS thriller book I read when I was a teenager where the author mentioned the "sniper" polished his bullets to make them more accurate.

so my question is if you polished or at least smoothed the lead tip to make it a bit neater would it make it more accurate? Has anyone actually tried this and noted the results?

i look forward to hearing people's answers and no doubt the massive amount of p*ss taking!!

polish nah, a little rub off with wire wool though makes them look better if they've tarnished but the lead tips of spitzer's are always getting bashed. Don't worry too much about the profile of the tip but you can usually give it a reshape with you're nail. There is a tool for re-shaping a spitzer point but it's bot going to make the bullet perform better, just look pretty.

I shot a roe with a sierra game king that was pretty much purple with the tip almost flattened that had been in a reload that was too tight, so I stripped and rebuilt that bullet after fl sizing. Don't worry about it too much, it's hunting ammo not match.

the tip of a bullet has next to no effect on the bullet , it's the base that really affects acuracy (i read an interesting test on it once in an american book) so shoot away and don't worry i'd say?

Quote Originally Posted by tackb View Post
    the tip of a bullet has next to no effect on the bullet , it's the base that really affects acuracy (i read an interesting test on it once in an american book) so shoot away and don't worry i'd say?
    Correct.~Muir