Thread: Top tips and ways of remembering all things deer

Top tips and ways of remembering all things deer

Well some of you know I'm studying for my dsc1. Any tips of remembering all things deer. For example the thread I started about seasons willie_gunn mentioned muntjac have a 777 cycle 7 month before they can breed, 7 month gestation and likely to be pregnant again in seven days. I found the very helpful and easy to digest. (Thanks willie)

are there any other tips that are broke down like that? I'm sorry I know I'm not the first or only person on the site to do his level one. I'm finding the DSCTraining.org website a godsend but I'm greedy and need all the hints tips and advice as possible and of course you will be helping all the other newbies

thank you in advance!

ps red and sika are a pain in the ass at distinguishing in some angles. As it is now I would struggle to figure out the species in a hunting situation unless I had a lot of time to glass the beast. Beautiful creatures indeed.
    Last edited by seanct; 16-04-2013 at 22:10. Reason: Miss quoted. My bad.

Please don't take this the wrong way and, this probably applies more to other recent DSC1 queries than yours, but, my advice is to learn the subject rather than learn how to remember the answers to the questions. I hope this makes sense.

For example, I have great faith in Willie Gunns knowledge of muntjac, but, are you sure you have understood his 777 thing correctly? Are you sure that its seven months before they are likely to be pregnant again?

Hi Seanct,

Try this to mnemonic to remind you of the lymph nodes.

"Stalking Roe Bucks Makes People Mad"

Meaning,

Submaxillary - under the mouth
    Retropharyngeal - back of throat
    Bronchial - windpipe
    Mediastinal - middle of lungs
    Portal - near the liver
    Mesenteric - on the intestines

Can't take the credit for the aide memoir, came from an old Willie Gunn post.

Willie
    Last edited by Willie; 16-04-2013 at 22:10.