Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: primer or rifle

primer or rifle

Hi hope i find you all well.

Im new to reloading only fired 50 rounds of my home loads so far. I have had probably 7 or 8 rounds that have not fired first go. Most have gone after cocking the rifle and firing again but have had a couple that just didnt want to go. I have pulled these and put them through the rifle again with no powder or bullet and the primers have gone off first go.

Any ideas gratefully received. Have lost confidence in my homeloads doing the job when needed

Regards pete

Sorry should probably be titled primer rifle or me
    Last edited by pj1; 25-04-2013 at 20:18. Reason: general ignorance

strip rifle and check head of firing pin for damage then try new box of primers these may be contaminated or faulty if it still persists take to a smith as they can check spring tension ect... have you uniformed the primer pockets at all

kris

Hi kris. Not done anything to the primer pockets. Im using cci large rifle primers and winchester brass. Just loaded 10 primers only and they all went off fine. Dent in primer looks to be the same depth. Some are as near dead centre as you could shake a stick at others are nearer the edge. The dent looks quite rough.

Not sure if any of this is relevent but hope that more info is best

Attachment 27484Attachment 27485Attachment 27486
    three primer only fired. dont understand how the point of impact can move that much or is this normal

Quote Originally Posted by pj1 View Post
    three primer only fired. dont understand how the point of impact can move that much or is this normal