Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Register as a Blood Donor

Register as a Blood Donor

I kicked off a thread Register as an Organ Donor recently, and Monkey Spanker correctly pointed out that we should also look at becoming Blood Donors.

To that end:
    Give Blood - do something amazing give Blood

I've been donating blood for about 25 years now, and as a bloke can donate every 12 weeks. Being O+, it's the least rare blood, and with 21,000 units in stock, makes up 38% of current stock. However, that's less than 10 days stock... The National Blood Service - See how much blood we have in stock

There was a mate of mine that was AB- and very proud that his blood was so rare until I pointed out that he was in real trouble if he was hit, as there was the square route of b*gger all around...

It might seem trite, but all my stalking kit is marked up O+, just in case... I want anyone to know what to pour into me without hesitation!

Someone, somewhere saved my now late-Father on 8 occasions, and many friends and family over the years. Without these anonymous donors, my life would now be as it is now, so I thank you...
    Sako 75 6.5x55mm-Z6i 3-18x50. MauserM12 .308-SIII 6-24x50. Beretta 690 III Field 12b.
    "You have enemies? Good. That means you’ve stood up for something, sometime in your life."
    Sir Winston Leonard Spencer Churchill (1874-1965)

A couple of years ago I was suddenly able to give blood! (My previous career didn't allow me to!)
    Off I went on a Friday evening to give my normal unit of A Positive. Phoned my stalking buddy the next day to see if he was up for a trip out only to find that he had been rushed to hospital in the early hours with a Aortic Anurism which is basically where your Aorta (main artery from your heart!) swells up and eventually bursts into your abdomen!
    He was given a 5-10% chance of survival. They weren't even going to bother to operate at first, but because he was a relativley fit and active builder aged 63 they tried.