Thread: DSC1 Study Period

DSC1 Study Period

I'm a total newbie to this game, so I'll be the one on the course borrowing the house rifle....

My question is, as a total newcomer, how much study time should I allow prior to doing my DSC1? There is a course with Jelen on 24/5 but I am concerned I won't be ready for that... Also worried about how/where I will get range time to practice the shooting part...

Quote Originally Posted by Toxster View Post
    I'm a total newbie to this game, so I'll be the one on the course borrowing the house rifle....

My question is, as a total newcomer, how much study time should I allow prior to doing my DSC1? There is a course with Jelen on 24/5 but I am concerned I won't be ready for that... Also worried about how/where I will get range time to practice the shooting part...
    To be frank I did about 200 hours reading and revision, but my knowledge of the subject was pretty scant beforehand, regarding the shooting I found dry firing to establish comfortable positions with minimal movement invaluable. Good luck. atb Tim

All depends on how quick you can retain the information. If you're generally good at the academic side co things then you could probably cram most of it in between now and the course.
    You'd need to focus on certain elements and probably spend less time on others. Ie the food hygiene stuff is mostly pretty common sense so you might be able to spend a little I less time on that and concentrate more on the species specific questions if that's what you're finding difficult.
    i found jelen's online training aid absolutely invaluable. As you're doing the course with them you might already be able to use it? If not I'd recommend signing up for it. I enables you to do mock tests and then instantly be told which questions you got wrong (and the correct answers). In this way you might be able to direct your study to the weaker areas.