Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Reloading Newbie

Reloading Newbie

Hi all I am new to reloading and have just reloaded my first 5 rounds for my .22-250 and have just reloaded them. I reloaded once fired PPU Brass with 32grains of N135 powder and used 52grains A-max heads. The bullets have an overall length of 59.50mm. Would this combination be suitable. Hopefully over the next few weeks I will be asking more questions about reloading and hopefully picking up some hints and advice from you fellow reloaders.

Are you sure that it is the right amount of powder ? not looking at a reloading data but I thinking a little to much powder there. Which reloading book are you following ?

Quote Originally Posted by oman View Post
    Hi all I am new to reloading and have just reloaded my first 5 rounds for my .22-250 and have just reloaded them. I reloaded once fired PPU Brass with 32grains of N135 powder and used 52grains A-max heads. The bullets have an overall length of 59.50mm. Would this combination be suitable. Hopefully over the next few weeks I will be asking more questions about reloading and hopefully picking up some hints and advice from you fellow reloaders.
    Deffinatly too hot . Reduce by 10% and work up slowley untill you find the "sweet spot". Please do not fire these loads that you have loaded.
    Tusker.

Viht starting load for 51gr is 26.5 with a max of 30.2 on N135.

I would start at 26.5 load 10 rounds and go up in .5gr steps until you find which gives the best results in your particular rifle, obviously check each batch for pressure signs and stop if you see any problems.

Edit. Just re-read your other post and it seems you're neck sizing, another reason to start with the lower rec. loads as the Viht information is based on cases which are sized to Saami spec (ie. full length sized and trimmed to length), neck sized cases can have a fair difference in internal volume depending on how tight/loose the chamber was that thet were originally fired in.