Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: First shot from a cold barrel or grouping?

First shot from a cold barrel or grouping?

Hi All

As an admission, I'm still pretty new to stalking, but have been around firearms for 30-odd years. Most of that has been centrefire and rimfire target shooting, the sole purpose of which is to score V-Bulls at distances out to 1200yds, so in essence it's actually about being able to group rounds.

So, to my point; There are ton of posts/threads/comments on how a rifle does (or generally doesn't) group, but as I'm yet to group on live quarry, this is what I'm trying to achieve with my set up...

This was the first round, from a cold barrel, at 100 yds:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	SST 150513.jpg 
Views:	210 
Size:	85.5 KB 
ID:	28484

At this stage I packed up, had a coffee and a natter, collected my target and came home. This wasn't me being clever but:
    1. If I can do this every time, then I'm a happy camper as the deer will drop into its shadow
    2. I'm a tight sod, and see no point in wasting ammo

This thread isn't an "aren't I clever", or to raise "no, you're a kn*b" comments, but to understand what others think...

Cheers
    iain
    Sako 75 6.5x55mm-Z6i 3-18x50. MauserM12 .308-SIII 6-24x50. Beretta 690 III Field 12b.
    "You have enemies? Good. That means you’ve stood up for something, sometime in your life."
    Sir Winston Leonard Spencer Churchill (1874-1965)

Completely agree, why continue until you make a silly mistake to knock your confidence, you have to trust the rifle in the field on the first shot so why do different on the range.
    Opinions are like arseholes....... we all have them, and most of them stink