Thread: Hello (I'm doing as I'm told :))

Hello (I'm doing as I'm told :))

Hi Everyone,

My name's Adam - I've just registered and I'm doing what I'm told and posting here first!

I'm pretty new to deer stalking but I went on my first stalk in April and I think I'm hooked. I put some stuff about that in my profile, but basically I've been shooting (shotguns) for about 3 years and I've enjoyed every minute of it (ok - maybe a few bad days here and there). I started out shooting clays, but I've always wanted to hunt (but in the traditional sense, not in the horses / hounds way) since I was very young and I started doing that last season with some wildfowling and rough shooting. I'd been toying with the idea of trying stalking too for a while but was nervous about shooting larger animals, but I decided in March that I'd never know unless I tried, so I did. I booked an accompanied stalk through a friend of my RFD and enjoyed it very much, though it took a few days to think it over, process it a bit and get to that happy state. My wife and family were a bit "iffy" about the idea of me shooting Bambi & co. until I cooked them a tasty venison casserole with some of the first deer I brought home - since then they've been more supportive, shall we say...

Anyway - I don't see myself stopping stalking any time soon so I've booked myself onto a DSC1 E-learning CD / assessment thing in August (waiting for the CD to come through as I type) and after that I'll be applying for an FAC so that - hopefully - I'll be able to go off and hunt as / when I choose and it'll be a little less expensive each time. I'm thinking about the Weatherby Vanguard II as a stalking rifle (Sako / Tikka etc may be a bit out of my rather limited budget.) In the meantime, I'll continue to pursue the Holy Grail of permissions, but in my area of Cambs, there's not a lot to be had as pretty much all the land is syndicated and unavailable.