Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Thread: .243 All Rounder

.243 All Rounder

I am currently applying for my FAC for a stalking rifle.

I have put down for a .243 and am just about to send it off but am now having second thought re the calibre!

I will mainly be stalking Roe with a bit of fallow now and then. I also have the opportunity for the occasional red hind.

My question is if I wanted to occasionally buy a day on stags would an estate let me with a .243?

A lot of my stalking will be in Scotland, obviously needing 100 grain on all but Roe. Am I right in saying a .243 is at its limit with 100 grains?

So basically if you had to go for a bit of an all round rifle for all deer species would it be a .243 or would I be better going for something along the lines of 6.5 swedish or a 25-06? Foxes will not be on my quarry list.

Blog Entries
    View my Gallery (39)View my Gallery (39)
    hello sir.

i have been running a 243 for a few years and found it fine on all i have pointed it at, (shot placement experience and range are all important.

i have use it on fallow be that just a few, lots of roe and more on munty, the odd fox (about 70) and it performed well enough for me, i have used it on a few estates with no issues from them or their keepers.

but stand by for all the other comments that its not man enough (more like my willies bigger than yours) after all its the most used deer calibre in the UK me thinks,

enjoy all the piffle to follow,

but after all that your the man who has to pull the trigger so its really down to you,

bob.
    WARNING: LUPUS IS A KILLER, lets support them in the need to find out what it is, what causes it and how do we defeat it. Donating to LUPUS UK | LUPUS UK

Living with Lupus - YouTube

geco do a 105gr cheap but shoots well in a 1x10 twist well under £100 a hundred it will do all you need it to do. i use 58vmax for fox and 100's for med up to fallow size deer always done it for me.