Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Buying Ammo

Buying Ammo

Hi All,

This may be a daft question but I'm new to having to pay for ammo, the Queen used to give me as much as I wanted. What is the best way to buy it?

I don't want to go down the home loading route, not yet anyway but paying well over a pound a shot seems expensive and due to the way we have to buy our ammo it seems the suppliers have us over a barrel. Am I stuck with going to my local gun shop and paying whatever they ask or have I missed something and there is a much cheaper/better way of buying it.

As always thanks in advance,

Jim

What are you shooting at over a pound a pop?

I can get ammo that will group nicely for everything except my 9.3mm for less than that.

The flip side - how much shooting are you going to do? 1 deer per week is still £50 per year in ammo. Not really a great deal of money

Section 161 of the Highways Act 1980 (England & Wales) makes it an offence to discharge a firearm within 50 ft of the centre of a highway with vehicular rights without lawful authority or excuse, if as a result a user of the highway is injured, interrupted or endangered.

Quote Originally Posted by Jim xyz View Post
    Hi All,

This may be a daft question but I'm new to having to pay for ammo, the Queen used to give me as much as I wanted. What is the best way to buy it?

I don't want to go down the home loading route, not yet anyway but paying well over a pound a shot seems expensive and due to the way we have to buy our ammo it seems the suppliers have us over a barrel. Am I stuck with going to my local gun shop and paying whatever they ask or have I missed something and there is a much cheaper/better way of buying it.

As always thanks in advance,

Jim