Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Mentor needed

Mentor needed

I have about 30a of land in the new forest, near brokenhurst.

i have been given permission to shoot deer by the land owner, and whilst there rabbit shooting i have seen several roe and muntjack, not loads, but then ive not really looked too hard as been paying attention to other things.

The FEO visited the land and approved it for .22 and 17hmr, i asked if he could consider approval for a .243 he said it would be ok if i get a mentor, and id need a letter from a mentor before he would issue my variation.

i asked if he would waive the mentor if i did the dsc1, but he feels that actual experiance of shooting deer is more important.

so im looking for a mentor, that is either willing to show me the ropes on my permission or his, if on my permission i would need a letter so i can put in for my variation. Then that will take some weeks to come through.

im a totally newbie as far as deer goes, stalked plenty of bunnies.. So am looking for someone that is willing to teach a little more rather than just say "theres a deer shoot it!"

im also not sure there is a major deer problem on the land, so dont want to go all out and shoot everything, just enough for the pot :-)

​So if you think you would be willing to do this please PM me to discuss terms

Berkshire then Dorset now Herefordshire with a good dose of Dorset
    Blog Entries
    View my Gallery (15)View my Gallery (15)
    I'll help you on one condition, you do DSC1 aswell
    “Man surprised me most about humanity. Because he sacrifices his health in order to make money.Then he sacrifices money to recuperate his health. And then he is so anxious about the future that he does not enjoy the present; the result being that he does not live in the present or the future; he lives as if he is never going to die, and then dies having never really lived.”........Dalai Lama