Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: which 7mm bullets ?

which 7mm bullets ?

I'm new to reloading a 7mm (7x64). Reloading to shoot reds (big Devon reds not weedy scottish ones) roe and the occaisional fox from 20yds to 200yds. If you have a 7mm which bullets do you use/have you used ?
    I'm thinking Hornady 139gr SST or interbonds, Barnes 140gr TTSX, Nosler 140gr BTH or cheap and cheerful Sierra 140gr Game king. Maybe the load both the Hornady option to the same point of aim, the SST for roe and fox and the Interbond for reds ? Advice much appreciated.
    ​Steve

With my experience of factory loaded SST Hornady's I stick with them. Shot pigs, red and Sika with them and found them excellent

Quote Originally Posted by shbangsteve View Post
    I'm new to reloading a 7mm (7x64). Reloading to shoot reds (big Devon reds not weedy scottish ones) roe and the occaisional fox from 20yds to 200yds. If you have a 7mm which bullets do you use/have you used ?
    I'm thinking Hornady 139gr SST or interbonds, Barnes 140gr TTSX, Nosler 140gr BTH or cheap and cheerful Sierra 140gr Game king. Maybe the load both the Hornady option to the same point of aim, the SST for roe and fox and the Interbond for reds ? Advice much appreciated.
    ​Steve

I use the 139 gn Hornady Interbond ref 2820 in my 7x65r with very good results. It's a basic soft point, with minimal meat damage on Roe but very effective on Red hinds. If I was shooting big Reds I would go to the 154 or 173gn Interbond bullet, but would nt feel under gunned with the 139gn - they are quite a tough bullet so plenty of penetration but sufficient expansion. I have tried the bigger bullets in my 7x65 and they work well, but given it is a very light combination gun it is a little uncomfortable. With a 139gn it's very mild. In terms of powder I have had good results with both imr4831 and 4350 - former better with big bullets, latter a bit better with the lighter ones.