Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: loose bullets

loose bullets

Hi there. I'm fairly new to reloading but have had good results so far. I've just loaded my first batch of fireformed cases and some bullets have seated ok but others slide into the case neck easily and can be pulled out by hand with no great difficulty. As far as I'm aware I'm doing everything the same. Any ideas gratefully received.
    Loading with a Lee loader. 308. 165 gn Sierra game kings. Winchester brass ( I have my suspicions it's this )

​regards Pete

Very unlikely to be a problem with the cases other than you have not resized them properly and almost certainly nothing wrong with the bullets. Your sizer is not resizing the case neck sufficiently to hold the bullet in place. If it were a conventional die or a collet die I would say go back and adjust the die but as it is a Lee loader of which I have no personal experience I can't advise on how to adjust.
    It's the calibre of the shooter that counts not the calibre of the rifle.

Hi Pj1 I had this when my neck re sizer and de primer die wasnt set right. I screwed it in another half a turn and it tightened the neck of the brass. cheers Hootsman
    Just Shoot The F..king Thing!

Thanks for the replies. I lee loader as far as I am aware has no adjustment for sizing. You quite literally knock the case into the "die"until it is flush with the bottom. As there is no adjustment would a different make of brass with a thicker neck make the dirrerence.

I wouldn't mess about, just get a set of adjustable dies, if your current setup has no facility for adjustment the problem will probably recur.
    (The Unspeakable In Pursuit Of The Uneatable.) " If I can help, I will help!." Former S.A.C.S. member!