Which 4x4 to get ?

Yorkshire lad

I'm looking at getting a different motor and wanted some suggestions and opinions . I'm currently have a navara which is great but is no good on fuel. Was thinking of abit of a change like a vw tiguan or similar. I need it to do a little off roading, pull the quad on a trailer and good boot space. Also ok on fuel. Many thanks.

My CRV does everything I need it to do and does 36mpg around town and 40+on a run. It's a 2.0 petrol and is capable enough off road for my needs and very reliable...I have looked at changing it for a hi-lux but it is so much nicer to drive than the truck I am not bothering.

I've been runniing a Nissan X-Trail for nearly 4 years now and have been impressed with it.

On a longer run it will see nearly 50mpg (up to Inverness earlier in the month and it was between 49 and 50) and with general running about, commuting, stalking etc. I average around 40. Running costs are also good and a recent main dealer service on mine was about £130. It does fine off road though, clearly, will never be a hard core off roader but if you've a quad you've got that covered. I believe that decent AT tyres are now becoming more easily available for the 17 inch wheels. Mine runs on Yoko Geolander ATS all terrains. I believe they tow well, though I only ever have sheep in a trailer on the back, and are very popular with people who trail horses about a lot. The boot is impressive and with the seats down gives a flat load area that will easily carry my high seat, a stag in a big fish box and other stalking gear. There is a great system of shelves under the load area to keep all sorts of stuff handy and easy to access even when the boot is full. It is also very comfy, has all the gadgets and even after 4 years I really like it and just can't see what there is out there to replace it - if I had to change it I'd have another one.