Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Gun shy training

Gun shy training

Hi All

I'm looking for some advice on training a Lab (arriving soon) not to be gun shy. Used to have working Labs and they generally got their gun manners merely by continually being around guns. However, life has moved on and I'm not in a position to have them around gun noise from an early age. This dog will be a full time family dog and a part time deer dog so I'm after some advice on what the best route for training would be from day one.

Thanks

FN

I just used to go about things normally around a pup and expose them to everyday noises in the home.
    ​I might add that an occasional dropped feed bowl,clapping of hands and even a trip to a clay ground can be thrown in the mix at a reasonable age

Only trained one but he's not remotely bothered by bangs - as above advice worked, also I used to slap doors and clap loudly without showing any reaction myself. Then I started shooting air rifle at his ball (tennis ball!) then letting him go and get it. I built this up from rimfire to shooting centre fire and he now goes and gets my targets for me.

Probably violated some well respected way of training (!!!)... but he's not remotely gun shy.

Gun shyness can't be trained for.
    Fabnosh why do you think your dog will be gunshy?
    ​Bunnydoom,why do you think your dog is not gunshy when it has nothing to do with training-however you've "trained" him.
    Handy trick with the target.
    Last edited by Wolverine; 11-08-2013 at 22:54.

https://m.facebook.com/UKSHA-502164506587351/
    Discretion assured
    - call us anytime, free on 0800 689 0857

please visit our web site: uksha1
    or find us on facebook
    Sponsored proudly by Pfanner, Blaser, Clark Forest, John Forsey sports

Hi there